Couscous Salad

I don’t know why it took me this long to try couscous..this is my new love, so easy to cook, and so versatile.  How I would describe this whole grain?  The texture is like a cross breed between rice and pasta.

I bought a bag of Bob’s Red Mill couscous over the weekend, and armed with a lot of good food sites in my online bookmark, I started looking for the ultimate couscous recipe.  Should it be a salad, stew, soup or cook it like a risotto?  I have no idea, so I looked through a couple of recipes from my favourite food blogs and started concocting my own recipe.  It didn’t turn out as good as I would have liked, but it was quite delicious for a first time attempt.

DSCN1949

Grilled zucchini couscous with chickpeas and cheery tomatoes.

3 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp of butter

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 cup of couscous

2 tsp salt

2 cups water (I will use veggie stock the next time for more flavor)

1 can of chickpeas

1/2 pint (about 1 cup) of cherry tomatoes

1 medium sized zucchini (cubed or sliced thin)

2 tbsp of lemon juice

Put the couscous in a pot, add about 2 cups of hot water/stock and cover the pot for about 10 minutes, no stove cooking required.  While the couscous is cooking, in a pan, heat oil and butter, and sautee garlic and onion until fragrant.  Then add the chickpeas and cook until golden brown and slightly charred, but not too much.  Take out the cooked chickpeas, in the same pan, cook the zucchini in the same oil and add more butter if needed.  Cook the zuchini for about 5 minutes, and then add in the cherry tomatoes.  Add salt and fresh ground pepper to taste.  Then, slowly add the zucchini, tomatoes and chickpeas in to the couscous, you will know it’s cooked when the couscous is soft and has got a cooked rice consistency.  Pour in the lemon juice and gently toss to combine well.  Served chilled or at room temperature.  I added some herbed feta to the couscous and it really made the dish.  You could also sprinkle chopped parsley or basil to it.  This makes a great light lunch if you’re looking for something filling and healthy.

DSCN1950

Leave a Reply

