Cooking Makes Me Happy

It saddens me to hear people say that they have no time to cook.  In my country, food is very accessible at all hours of the day, from roadside hawkers, to 24 hours fast food and restaurants, and furthermore, the weather is warm all year, round, making it easier for people to hang out and eat out all times of the year.  I still remember when I was visiting US and Europe, I was freezing cold all the time and can’t wait to get back to my hotel room in the evening for some warmth, and most shops are closed after 7pm.

A lot of people in Malaysia are beginning to get on the fast food binge wagon, and it doesn’t help that McDonald’s open 24 hours nowadays.  Somehow, most people have lost the urge to cook, to roll up their sleeves and dirty their hands.  I am one who love to cook, if I don’t cook at least once to twice a week, I will miss it dearly.  When I’ve had a bad day, I take a shower, turn on some music and chop some vegetables, sauté some garlic and onions…and all is well.  Sometimes I don’t even have to really cook, just make a salad and have it with a nice cooling drink…that makes me very happy too.  Nothing packaged or frozen could taste so good as home cooked food.

DSCN1730

A simple salad with romaine lettuce, cherry tomatoes, bell peppers, onions, herbed vinaigrette and crumpled feta on top.

Leave a Reply

