Dessert for Breakfast

I had the most amazing breakfast today, warm banana oatmeal with stewed apples and Demerera sugar (cane sugar), cooked in soymilk.

DSCN1621

This is just like eating a dessert early in the morning…….so good! 🙂 Those were stewed apple chunks.

The mix:

– 1/2 cup rolled oats

– 1 small banana

– 1 small apple

– 1 tbsp demerera sugar or regular brown sugar

I soak the rolled oats and cooked the apples the night before in some water for about 20 minutes.  The next morning, I cooked the oats in about 1 cup of soy milk (unsweetened) and added the apples in towards the end of the cooking.  Top with brown sugar and eat.  Since I brought mine to work and have put it in the fridge the night before, I just pour some soymilk and zap it in the microwave for about 2 minutes.  It tasted like a rice pudding dessert with a subtle sweetness from the apples and sugar…..the taste of fall! Yuuummmmmm….

And as promised, I made a big batch of hummus yesterday night while cooking dinner to make wraps.

The huge tub of hummus, doesn’t look appetizing but I really don’t care because it tastes heavenly. 🙂DSCN1619

My veggie wrap this morning before my attempt to wrap it up, as usual, I went to town with the veggies and had a hard time rolling the tortilla up.

DSCN1618

May I present to you, the most delicious veggie wrap…lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, bell peppers with hummus (tahini, chickpeas, olive oil & lemon juice).

DSCN1624 The trick to packing up a veggie tortilla is to wrap it all up with tin foil for easy transport and consumption so that you can have a more enjoyable and less messy meal. 🙂

Looks like I’m doing pretty well so far with preparing meals and bringing work lunch.  Tonight would be herbed alfredo pasta and some blanched broccoli & carrots.  I still have tons to do and let’s just hope that I’ll manage to go to Parkson today. 😉

Have a good day!

Leave a Reply

