Weekend Culinary Adventure Part 1

Hello there! :)  I hope everyone’s weekend has been fabulous so far!  Mine has been awesome, because I’ve had a great baking success….using my crock pot!!!

Tadaaaa……banana nut cake. 😀

DSCN1514 Behind the banana bread is my beloved crock pot.  I followed this recipe from Joyce’s Fine Cooking.  The texture of the bread is wonderful, just like how it would be if I were to bake this using the oven.  Some benefits of using a crock pot for “baking” is that it does not heat up the whole house like an oven does, and it’s not very nice to switch on the oven with our local Malaysia weather, and the plus point is that my house smelled heavenly during the baking process.  I will write a separate on how to make this cake with a crock pot from start to finish.  I wasn’t sure if this would be a success although I did have some experience beforehand baking with this method about one year back, so I didn’t take many pictures thinking it might be a flop, but it turned out better than I’ve expected! :)  The recipe called for a list of very basic ingredients: banana, flours, sugar, walnuts, baking soda, eggs, margarine & milk.

DSCN1516 

Delicious!

Boyfriend immediately made some coffee and it was a match made in heaven – hot coffee with warm freshly baked banana walnut cake, mmmmmmmmm…………

Tomorrow I will be attempting the chocolate cake aka the birthday cake.  I really hope that will turn out just as good.

I woke up bright and early this morning to head to SPCA for their dog training program.  This is a voluntary program that we’ve signed up to train the shelter dogs so that they get a higher chance to get adopted.

24102009047 Meet my trainee, Willy Winkie!  He is a funny plump dog with quite a character.

24102009053

Sitting pretty.

24102009052 SueChing & Toby.

I had a banana in the car on the way to SPCA and we came home around noon, so I heated up yesterday’s pasta dinner leftovers to have for lunch.

DSCN1497

Mushroom , fresh thyme and assorted veggie pasta, with roasted garlic/rosemary potatoes on the side.

We had more pasta for dinner!

DSCN1508 This time penne with Newman’s Own Marinara sauce and chopped fresh basil.

Dessert was the above banana cake with coffee.  We also went to the supermarket to stock up on ice cream before dinner, flavors to be reviewed later. 😉

It’s going to be a long day tomorrow and I’m off to bed!

One response to “Weekend Culinary Adventure Part 1

  1. Pingback: Banana Nut Cake « Eat Your Greens

Leave a Reply

