Soy Frenzy

We ended up getting take-out yesterday night instead of going ahead with the pasta plan. :oops:  We did a huge grocery shop yesterday and it was late by the time we were done, I guess sometimes it is just too difficult to cook even if I have good intentions to.

I ordered the hokkien mee (black sauce noodle) with sambal petai, the petai beans are really smelly but yet so delicious.  I only have this once in a while because it will smell the entire house out for the next few days…trust me. 😉

DSCN1473 Sorry for the blur pic…. 😦

Boyfriend had the nasi lemak (coconut rice).  I love nasi lemak.  Ibought some ingredients to make some perhaps next week, vegetarian of course. 🙂

DSCN1469 Yesterday when we were food shopping, we’ve decided to embark on the soymilk journey.  A while ago, I had this conversation with the boyfriend about reducing our dairy intake and gradually switching to soymilk/oatmilk instead.   He is very excited with the idea and so we went on a soymilk frenzy yesterday…I think we bought a total of four different brands to try???!!! And we went and bought a Starbucks iced soy latte AND a Coffee Bean iced soy latte for taste testing purposes!  I can say we were soymilk overloaded yesterday. 😯

DSCN1468

I forgot to take a pic of the Coffee Bean iced latte, but they actually looked the same, with the exception of the logo on the cup. :)  I really liked the Starbucks version of soy latte because the milk was creamier and has got more texture, the Coffee Bean’s was too watery for my liking, I couldn’t taste the soy at all, plus they gave me a bad shot of coffee. 👿

We watched Ice Age 3 while eating dinner yesterday and it was hilarious. :D  They did a pretty good job from the first one and the quality of the animation was superb!  I had a few bites of ice cream and have conveniently forgotten to take a snapshot of that. 😉

I woke up this morning craving fruits so I made a huge cup of fruit smoothie and consumed it on my way to work.

DSCN1477 I put the smoothie in my recycled cup to make it more fun to drink. 🙂

Fruit smoothie:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 kiwi (peeled and sliced, this can be frozen too, but i used the fresh ones cause I didn’t freeze any)
  • 2 tbsp of yogurt (Farmer’s Union)
  • 1 cup of orange juice (I use the Florida’s Natural orange juice)
  • 1 tbsp of wheat germ (you can also use ground flaxseed)
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter ( I use Steffi’s chunky peanut butter)
  • I didn’t have any frozen strawberries, but usually I’ll put about 3-4 into the mix as well.

Yumminess……

DSCN1474

If I put strawberries, it will give me a nice red color.  To make a fruit smoothie more filling, you can always add flax seeds, peanut butter or even a tbsp of rolled oats. :)  This is also a good to-go breakfast if you’re in a rush!

Farmers Union Yogurt

This is the best yogurt that I’ve had so far, compared to Yoplait or even Emmi’s, I bought the Greek yogurt this time around and it didn’t disappoint. Smooth, thick and creamy with just the right amount of tartness.  It comes in 1kg packs and it costs about RM18+, quite reasonable compared to other imported yogurt in the supermarket.  I usually use my yogurt for almost everything, to dollop on soups, to make a cucumber herbed salad, to eat with rice, as a yogurt/fruit breakfast bowl or even to dollop into a bowl of oatmeal, 🙂 mmmmmmmm, I know this statement is going to make some of my friends gag because they absolutely hate yogurt, so I’m still the cool kid around.  They are so jealous of me, I can tell. 😉

DSCN1483

I had “yesterday’s” packed lunch for lunch today since I splurged for a lunch out yesterday which happened to be free. :mrgreen:

DSCN1490 A simple mixed green salad and the last of the minestrone! hooray!!

Salad consists of:

  • Baby butterhead lettuce
  • Red & green bell pepper
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • 1 hard boiled egg
  • Sweet onions
  • Newman’s Own Light Honey Mustard dressing

We will be eating in tonight for sure and I plan to make a crockpot banana walnut cake to test out my crock pot before making the boyfriend’s birthday cake this weekend! 🙂

I got some loot from Giant after lunch today to prepare for the birthday boy’s meal. 🙂

DSCN1493 I would have rather preferred to make the cake from scratch, but there are just too many uncertainties this time so I guess it is better to buy a cake mix.  At least it has Hershey’s chocolate in it. 🙂

Stay tuned and I’ll let you know how it went in the next few days.  I hope it’s a hit and not a flop.

Have a great weekend ahead everybody! :)  I know someone is attempting cooking for the first time this weekend and I wish her the best!!

My fridge is brimming with yesterday’s groceries in an effort to cook more meals at home this coming week.  No more eating out!

DSCN1480 

A drawer full of vegetables!

DSCN1482

Happy Friday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

