Weekend Eats

Lots of these.

DSCN0688

I’m picky about my chips, and there  are only a handful of brands that I will consider buying if I’m to buy any.  Kettle chips is one of my favourite because the chips slices are thick and it’s less oily.  The other type of chips that I love are the tortilla chips!  It great for dipping in salsa or guacamole.

I also tried a new kind of fruit juice.  It is  great for a pick me up drink and the packaging claimed that it’s free of preservatives and flavouring, plus the kcal is very low although I can’t remember the exact number .

DSCN0690

I also made one of my all time favourite pasta – aglio e olio.

Aglio e Olio

Aglio e Olio

I can eat this everyday and be happy.  It’s nothing fancy as it only consists of a few ingredients – pasta, garlic, onions, olive oil, chili flakes and cheese.  This is a traditional Italian recipe originated from a region in Italy, Abruzzo.  You can read more about it here.  Ensure that you use the highest quality of ingredients when making this and it will taste out of this world!  The traditional recipe does not include onions, but I like to put it in mine for a little extra kick.

Aglio e Olio

  • – 6 cloves of garlic sliced
  • – 1 medium onion sliced
  • – 6 tbsp extra virgin olive oil ( for 1 packet of pasta)
  • – 1 tbsp of chili flakes
  • – salt
  • – parmesan cheese

Put a pot of water to boil, add a little salt and cook the pasta until al dente.   I like to use spaghetti or linguine for this recipe.  Once pasta is cooked, drain and put aside.  In a pan, heat oil on medium heat and put in the onions and garlic.  Sautee it using the slowest heat until it smells amazing.  That is when you know the olive oil has turned into garlic onion oil.  When the onions and garlic turn golden brown and crispy, add in salt and chili flakes.  Lastly, add in the pasta and turn off the heat.  Coat the pasta with the oil and serve it with parmesan cheese.

This recipe is so simple that you can never go wrong with it.  I have been cooking this for years and it always brings satisfactory results.

I also had some blueberry cheesecake on Friday, nothing to rave about but this is supposed to be a famous cake place in KL called Alexis.  I think I can make a better cheese cake and it cost a whopping RM12 a slice!!

DSCN0694

I think it was so expensive because they were using real blueberries and good cheese, but still, I wouldn’t buy it for that price.  I had a cup of green tea with that cake, now the green tea is amazing!

 

DSCN0702

On Saturday morning, I made a smoothie before going out to run errands, and this time, I added blueberries!

DSCN0705

The mix – mangoes, strawberries, kiwi, banana (all frozen), fresh blueberries, 2 tbsp of yogurt and a dash of juice. Blend it all together and drink!

I forgot to add wheatgerm or flaxseed for this round but usually I will add some for an extra boost.  The blueberries were on sale so I was excited to be able to add them this time!

DSCN0707

I’m now sitting in the office sipping some more green tea and craving for chocolate.  But I had a nice juicy  plum instead.

DSCN0720

But I know I won’t be able to hold back much longer to munch on some of these.

DSCN0719

Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

