Oats!

I woke up this morning excited about having oats for breakfast, so I made a batch of banana rolled oats with toasted walnuts and about a tbsp of PB.  Then I got carried away and added another tbsp of trail mix.  This really filled me up throughout the whole morning and I had to force myself to eat lunch!  Oats is a great component to have in the morning because it keeps you full and energized for at least about 4 hours.  And if you add additional toppings like me (but not overdoing it redface ) it is a wonderful breakfast.  Check out this article on the benefits of oats on WHFoods.

 

DSCN0477

– rolled oats 1/2 cup, cooked in 1/2 water & 1/2 milk

– 1 medium banana, sliced and added in while cooking

– 1 tsp Madagascar Bourbon vanilla extract

– 1 tbsp toasted walnuts

– 1 tbsp trail mix

– sprinkle of brown sugar

I still wasn’t very hungry around 12.30, but I decided to have lunch anyway since we are going out for dinner tonight with friends and I didn’t want to spoil my appetite.

DSCN0479

Sorry about the gross picture, the container of soup was sloshing around in the car on my way to work this morning.  I ate the soup together with the 4 pieces of garlic bread.  I almost couldn’t finish the soup because I was still really full from breakfast. sad  This is one of the reason why I started a blog about the food I eat because I tend to either starve myself, or overeat due to years of bad eating habit and a sedentary lifestyle. 

With this blog, I hope to improve my health in overall because what I put into my body is fully within my control and I don’t need to spend a lot of money to be healthy, just strict discipline, good organization and motivation from family and friends.  I’m happy to say that I have been bringing my lunch to work almost everyday for the past 2 weeks and I feel so much better, less lethargic in the afternoon, more energy in the morning because of breakfast (which I never eat in the past).  It’s so rewarding and satisfying to the body not having to eat fat, oily, and unhealthy food.  I will feel even more fantastic once I start to run, swim and do yoga!  I figured I need about 1800-2000 calories a day and since I have not actively started running and exercising, I would like to keep it at 1800 a day for now.  I’m still learning how to count calories correctly and hope to record it on this blog once I figured out how!  smile

Got to get back to work, Excel formulas swimming in my head… eek , but I’m glad it’s Friday!  Dinner with friends this evening, going to a book fair tomorrow and having lunch with another friend.  This will be a test to see if I can order healthily in restaurants. wink

Leave a Reply

