Aquaria KLCC

I visited the Aquaria KLCC a few weeks ago and  I can now safely say that nothing beats admiring the creatures of the ocean in their own habitat.  It breaks my heart to see artificial corals with fishes pecking on it thinking that those are real corals and never got over the idea that their are no longer in their natural habitat.
 
Although I am sure that Aquaria KLCC is trying to create an environment that resembles the sea creatures’ natural habitat, but it can never be identical or even close to it.  I’ve heard about Aquaria KLCC a few months back and have wanted to go and check it out.  Admission fee is RM28.00 per adult if you have MyKad (Malaysia’s new identification card) and RM38.00 per adult if you have not renewed your NRIC.  There are more information about the admission fees on their website.
 
When I walked into the Aquaria after purchasing the tickets, there is a big roadmap that shows how the sea creatures have evolved throughout the ages and I think that was really cool.  The Aquaria is separated into different areas that represents the sea creatures which live in different environments and ecosystems.  The first stop was The Highland, next was the Jewel of the Jungle, the Flooded Forest, The Coast, The Living Reef and lastly was the Living Ocean.  In the Jewel of the Jungle, there are different species of snakes, frogs as well as some queer bugs and insects.  In the Flooded Forest, there is the huge catfish and another gigantic fish called the Arapaimas.  Moving along the different ecosystem, I got to see some starfish, stingrays, smaller fishes and some reef sharks.  The last stop was the ocean where the bigger fishes are residing, I also saw a moray eel or two, parrot fish, trigger fish and of course, sharks.  There was this tingling sensation down my back when a huge shark was swimmng right above my head and I can clearlly see it’s fins, tail and it’s tummy hovering over me.  Time to learn what to do when I see a shark the size of a mini bus while diving in the ocean!
 
Some hightlights of the Aquaria – I like the way information is presented to visitors throughout the Aquaria because besides gaping at the fishes, visitors are able to learn more about the sea creatures and how evolution has occured throughout the ages.  Although I dislike the idea of removing these creatures from their natural habitat to be displayed in public, but I really hope this will create awareness among the public about the importance of conservation and preservation.  Ever thought about what it feels like if the situation is reversed?  Humans are put into confined spaces in the sea to be admired by the fishes and other sea creatures, wondering how long we will live and how we ended up there?  And most importantly, will we ever return to a place we once called home?
 
Leave a Reply

